12,000 steps

24 09 2011

This is not me! Licensed under Creative Commons from Adria Richards http://www.flickr.com/photos/adriarichards/2798736890/

Acording to health and exercise gurus, I should be doing something between 10,000 and 12,000 steps a day. No, that is not a typo. Ten thousand to twelve thousand steps a day.

My average sits somewhere between 4,000 and 5,000. Unless I am particularly busy at work, in which case it can drop to as little as 2,000.

I have a fairly sedentary job. I spend my days sitting in my car driving, sitting at a computer, sitting at my desk reading, sitting in meetings.

My children on the other hand, can run up 12,000 steps in a couple of hours. They run, jump, hop, play sports, climb, skip, chase, etc.

So how can I get my steps up?

One work colleague suggested walking before work (clearly he doesn’t have to get children ready for school in the morning. Or put on a load of washing, empty and reload the dishwasher, make beds, iron a shirt or two, prepare lunches and defrost tonight’s dinner).

I could get up early – but I am already sleep deprived. (I do however acknowledge the argument that if I were fitter I might not have the sleep issues and my energy levels might be better managed).

Another colleague suggested a quick walk at lunchtime. I spend most of my lunchtimes doing emails. I have a long commute to and from work and would prefer to spend all my time at work productively. And yes that probably does say something about my priorities and how, as a working woman, I should be prioritising myself…..

A third suggestion was a walking group after work. I need to be at the other side of the city before childcare closes.

And when I get home I have dinner to prepare, homework to supervise, fights to break up, a house to keep in some semblance of tidiness.

On the weekend I can get a little exercise in. In between study homework, shopping, running the children to sporting and social committments. And writing this blog. But this little bit of weekend exercise does not make up for the daily deficit.

Clearly I need to do something. More exercise would increase my energy levels, reduce BP and stress levels, increase brain function, etc etc (see Reasons I should be exercising.) What I can do at the moment is try to build extra steps into my day. I walk to local work sites when I can. I do try to build in an errand or two at lunch time to enable me to take a five minute walk (post office, supermarket, newsagent).

But if exercise is like a bank, I am definitely living on my credit cards.

Thanks for listening to me whinge!

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 10 2011
Reasons I should be allowed to eat what I want. « Mud Map to Life in the Modern Age

[…] you liked this post you might also like 12,000 steps, Chocolate and Red Wine and Reasons I should be exercising Advertisement Eco World Content From […]

19 10 2011
Reasons I should be allowed to eat what I want. « Mud Map to Life in the Modern Age

[…] you liked this post you might also like 12,000 steps, Chocolate and Red Wine and Reasons I should be exercising Advertisement Eco World Content From […]

22 10 2011
Fitness campaign « Mud Map to Life in the Modern Age

[…] credit H@rpoon Despite very convincing previous postings (12,000 steps and Reasons I should be exercising), you will be surprised to find that I have not in fact been […]

10 11 2011
Oval Therapy « Mud Map to Life in the Modern Age

[…] you liked this post you might also like… Reasons I should be exercising 12,000 steps Fitness Campaign Advertisement Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on […]

Leave a Reply

